Le Quiers



This project aims to transform a monumental barn located at the edge of a plateau formed by a lava flow, at an altitude of 1.100 meters.

This vast and ascetic site, added to the hieratic aspect of this 19-century building, requiring the renovation to respect and highlight the organic nature of the building and express its intimate feeling of belonging to the place: it has mass, opacity and permanency. Built in lava rubbles, it seems to be a very extension of the relief.

In order to preserve the building’s nature, the agency VIDALENC ARCHITECTES designed an independent reinforced concrete structure at the heart of the original barn. Its walls stop just before the internal part of the barn’s framework, which was entirely preserved.

This process allows a preservation of the historical works, which therefore form the new dwelling house’s surrounding wall. The only interaction with the modern structure was made against the west facade, crossed over by the concrete structure and hollowed out to open the building onto the site. The south facade, which already had some ancient openings, was not modified.

However, this approach forbids any creation of channels or technical sleathing against the ancient walls. The different networks (risers, drainage, cables, etc.) go through technical nodes placed at the heart of the building and integrated to the concrete structure; this way, the ancient walls stay entirely untouched and visible.

The new volumes, insulated by acoustic walls covered by a light oak face and carefully assembled, reveal the minimalist aspect of the original barn.

This renovation allowed for the complete layout of the building and the creation of contemporary living spaces – projection room, living room, kitchen, 6 bedrooms and bathrooms – while preserving the original strength of the place.

Le Quiers



Le programme prévoit la transformation d'une grange monumentale, située à 1 100 mètres d'altitude en bordure d'un plateau formé par une coulée de lave.

Le site vaste et austère, comme l'aspect hiératique du bâtiment construit à la fin du 19ème siècle, oblige toute intervention au respect et à la valorisation du caractère organique du bâtiment, à l'expression de son appartenance intime au lieu : il est masse, opacité, permanence. Construit en moellons de pierre de lave, il semble s'inscrire dans le prolongement même du relief.

Afin de préserver le sens du bâtiment, l'agence VIDALENC ARCHITECTES conçoit une structure de béton armé totalement indépendante, mise en œuvre au cœur du volume de la grange d'origine, et dont les parois sont arrêtées en limite de la partie interne de la charpente, totalement conservée.

La démarche engagée préserve les ouvrages historiques, qui forment ainsi l'enceinte de la nouvelle maison d'habitation ; la seule interaction avec la structure moderne s'effectue contre la façade ouest, traversée par cette structure de béton et évidée, afin d'ouvrir le bâtiment sur le site; la façade sud, comprenant quelques ouvertures anciennes, reste inchangée.

Cette démarche va jusqu'à interdire toute saignée ou création de gaine technique contre les murs anciens. Les passages de réseaux (colonnes montantes, évacuations, chemin de câbles, etc.) s'effectuent par l'intermédiaire de noyaux techniques ramenés au centre du bâtiment et intégrés à la structure béton, les murs anciens restant ainsi totalement libres, en tout point lisibles.

Les volumes créés, isolés par des cloisons acoustiques comprenant un parement de planches de chêne clair sablé, soigneusement mises en œuvre, révèlent le minimalisme de la grange d'origine.

Cette intervention a permis l'aménagement complet du bâtiment, la création d'espaces de vie contemporains – salon, salle de projection, cuisine, 6 chambres et salles de bains – tout en préservant la force originelle du lieu.